This site requires Javascript. Please enable Javascript in your browser for this site.

Australian Film Television and Radio School

School Overview

    • Founded:
    • 1973
    • Size:
    • Small (<5000 students)
    • Type:
    • Public
    • Category:
    • Universities, colleges
      Art institutes
    • Specialization:
    • Film, Television and New Media School 1
    • Climate:
    • Temperate
    • Location:
    • Building 130, The Entertainment Quarter, Moore Park, New South Wales, Australia, 2021
    • Phone:
    • +61298056611
    • Setting:
    • Suburban, town

The History of Australian Film, Television and Radio School

The Australian Film, Television and Radio School (AFTRS) is Australia's national screen arts and broadcast school. The school is an Australian Commonwealth government statutory authority. It is a member of the "Australian Roundtable for Arts Training Excellence". AFTRS focus is to advance the success of Australia's screen arts and broadcast industries by developing the skills and knowledge of talented individuals and undertaking research.

Academic Highlights

  • Master of Arts Screen
  • Master of Arts Screen: Business and Leadership
  • Bachelor of Arts Screen: Production
  • Graduate Diploma in Radio
  • Postgraduate

Life in Australian Film, Television and Radio School

Australian Film, Television and Radio School is the nation’s premier screen arts and broadcast school – the only Australian education institution to consistently make The Hollywood Reporter‘s prestigious annual list of the top film schools in the world. We empower Australian talent to shape and share their stories with the world by delivering the most future-focused education, research and training.

School Ranking


The Eligibility for admission in Australian Film, Television and Radio School, Australia is Based on entrance examinations , students' past academic record and grades , English language requirement.

Notable Alumni

Notable alumni include Jane Campion, Gillian Armstrong, Chris Noonan, Rachel Perkins, Cate Shortland, Warwick Thornton, Andrew Lesnie, Dion Bebe, David White, Jacquelin Perske, Larissa Behrendt, Margaret Sixel, Nick Meyers, Annie Beauchamp, Antony Partos, Chloe Rickard, Patrick Clair and Sejong Park.

 Acceptance Rate

The total number of students enrolled in Australian Film, Television and Radio School is 1000.

Other Campuses
No other campus yet.



No records.

People who this school

None as of the moment.